Buffers are a kind of temporary storage for image data, created when you cut or copy part of a drawable (a layer, layer mask, etc.). The following commands are available from the menu to save an image to a buffer:
→ → This command cuts the selected part from the current drawable (usually a layer) and places it in a buffer. If there is no selection the whole drawable will be used. You will be asked to give the buffer a name. The image will be removed from the selection after this is done.
→ → This command copies the selected part from the current drawable (usually a layer) and places it in a buffer. If there is no selection the whole drawable will be used. You will be asked to give the buffer a name.
→ → This command copies the selected part from all the visible drawables and places it in a buffer. If there is no selection the whole image will be used. You will be asked to give the buffer a name.
→ → This menu command opens the Buffers Dialog. To actually paste a buffer, choose one of the buttons from this dialog, or the context menu. Both of which will be explained below.
The „Buffers“ dialog shows you the contents of all existing named buffers, and allows you to operate on them in several ways. It also shows you, at the top, the contents of the Global Buffer (the contents of the clipboard). This Global Buffer is merely a display: you can't do anything with it. There is no hard limit on the number of named buffers you can create, except that it will consume a share of your available computer memory.
|
Внимание |
|---|---|
|
Named buffers are not saved across sessions: they will be gone when you close GIMP. The only way to save their contents is to paste them into images. |
This dialog is a dockable dialog; see the section Раздел 2.3, „Dialogs and Docking“ for help on manipulating it.
You can access it:
from the main menu: → → ;
from the main menu: → → ;
from the Tab menu in any dockable dialog by clicking the
tab menu button
and selecting
→ .
In the menu, there is a list of detached windows which exists only if at least one dialog remains open. In this case, you can raise the „Buffers“ dialog from the main menu: → .